Seminar Series

AIMS Seminar Series

All seminars will take place in LR7 from 12noon - 1:00 pm unless otherwise stated.

Hilary Term 2020

Week 1 - Friday 24th January

Professor Alessandro Abate (Department of Computer Science) - "Automated, Sound and Scalable Analysis and Control of Dynamical Models with SAT and SMT"

Week 2 - Friday 31st January

Coorous Mohtadi (Mathworks) - "Are you Ready for AI? Is AI Ready for you?"

Week 3 - Friday 7th February

Professor Ingmar Posner (Oxford Robotics Institute) - "Robots Thinking Fast and Slow"

Week 4 - Friday 14th February

Robert Birke (ABB) - "Towards Industrial Autonomy"

Week 5 - Friday 21st February

Jeffrey Hawke and Corina Gurau (Wayve) - "Learned Urban Driving"

Week 6 - Friday 28th February

Pia Dreiseitel (Continental) - With Computer Vision to Vision Zero - A World Without Traffic Accidents"

Week 7 - Friday 6th March

Steve Spittle & Tom Jones (Satellite Catapult) - Driving Innovation with Geospatial Information

Week 8 - Friday 13th March

Professor Nick Hawes – (Oxford Robotics Institute) - "Mission Planning under Uncertainty for Autonomous Robots"

Week 9 - Friday 20th March - CANCELLED

Alison Lowndes (Nvidia) - "Fuelling the Artificial Intelligence Revolution with Gaming"

Michaelmas Term 2019

Week 1 - Friday 18th October

Professor Yarin Gal – Head of the Oxford Applied and Theoretical Machine Learning (OATML) Research Group, Department of Computer Science - "Bayesian deep learning. In space"

Week 2 - Friday 25th October (Host Xiowen Dong)

Professor Mike Rabbat (Facebook AI Research in Montreal) - "Gossip Algorithms for Distributed Learning"

Week 3 - Friday 1st November

Professor Pawan Mudigonda – Optimisation for Vision & Learning Group (OVAL) – Department of Engineering Science - "Optimization for Robust Deep Laarning"

Week 4 - Friday 8th November (Host Varun Kanade)

Alex Davies (Google) - "AlphaZero - A case study"

Week 5 - Friday 15th November – 11:00 – 12:00 NOTE TIME (Host Shimon Whiteson)

Hado van Hasselt (Senior Staff Research Scientist at Google DeepMind) - "Overconfidence in Model-based and Model-free Reinforcement Learning"

Week 6 - Friday 22nd November (Host Carissa Veilz)

Gemma Galdon Clavell (Eticas Research & Consulting) - Ethics on the Ground. "How Eticas Audits the Algorithmic Society"

Week 7 - Friday 29th November

No seminar

Week 9 - Monday 9th December (LR2) (Host Andrew Zisserman)

Professor Alyosha Efros (University of Berkeley, California)